Why Do You Want To …?

geddy-leesteve-harris

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When you are setting out to learn a new skill good questions to ask yourself include, “Why am I doing this? What do I want to achieve?”

The answers that you give to these questions will likely have an influence on how you set about learning.

So why do I want to play the bass? Well …

If I were 30 years younger I’d say that I want to be able to play bass like Geddy Lee (Rush), Steve Harris (Iron Maiden), John Taylor (Duran Duran) and John Deacon (Queen) … amongst many others. And I’d want to be in a band.

john-taylor

johndeacon

 

 

 

 

 

 

These days my ambitions are somewhat more modest. I’d like to be able to play along to some of my favourite tunes, and I’d like to be able to play bass in a way that supports the music in our church week by week.

And maybe, just maybe, I might find some like-minded individuals to form a band, strictly for the fun of playing music together.

And maybe I won’t …

 

Leave a Reply

